Key Takeaways
- Consumer subscription loss is front-loaded, and annual figures hide it. More than half of e-commerce subscription-box buyers have canceled by month six (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018), and specialty streaming falls from 72% survival at month one to 54% by month three (Antenna Specialty SVOD Landscape, 2026).
- The subscription model is the weakest variable on this page. Cancellation rates are similar across replenishment, curation and access (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018); the gap between two categories inside one model is larger than the gap between models.
- Packaging moves survival about thirty points. A three-service bundle survives twelve months at 59% against 31% and 28% for the same services sold standalone (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025).
- Roughly two in five cancellations come back. 23% of streaming cancellations return within three months and 42% within twelve (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025), so gross cancellation overstates the loss and the win-back window is short.
- Discount-acquired subscribers did not churn harder. Black Friday 2024 sign-ups survived nine months at 57% against 43% for that year's sign-ups overall (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025). One panel and one window, but the opposite of the usual advice.
- Physical-goods churn barely moves by category, with one exception. Four of five Shopify subscription verticals sit between 7.7% and 8.8% a month, and Home is the outlier at 3.9% (Recharge Subscription Trend Report, 2026).
If you run an annual retention program on a consumer subscription, you're running it after the fact. More than half of e-commerce subscription-box buyers have canceled by month six, and more than a third by month three (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018). Specialty streaming keeps 72% of subscribers at month one and 54% by month three (Antenna Specialty SVOD Landscape, 2026). Meal-kit cohorts that were 57% to 69% still buying in the month after their first order are down to between 5% and 15% by month eleven (Second Measure Meal Kit Competition, 2023).
Three verticals, three methods, one shape. A survey of consumers, a measured panel of streaming subscriptions and a card-transaction panel of meal-kit buyers all describe loss that is front-loaded and mostly complete before a SaaS-shaped retention program would have run its first review.
That one fact reorders what's worth doing. Win-back campaigns, annual plan pushes and loyalty tiers all operate on subscribers who are, statistically, already gone. The work that changes the outcome happens in the first two or three billing cycles. So measure the first three billing cycles before you fund anything that runs later.
One correction worth flagging up front: the subscription model, replenishment against curation against access, turns out to be the weakest of the variables here, and the source usually cited for its importance says so directly.
When subscribers actually leave
The three panels below measure different things and can't sensibly be laid on one axis. McKinsey asked consumers what they had done; Antenna observes subscriptions; Second Measure observes card transactions. What they share is the shape, not the level.
The drop is early and steep
Specialty streaming holds 72% of a cohort at month one and 54% by month three (Antenna Specialty SVOD Landscape, 2026), so more than a quarter of every cohort is gone inside thirty days on our subtraction from those survival figures. Premium streaming, which is the larger and more established end of the same market, still loses 60% of its sign-ups within a year (Antenna State of Subscriptions: Adds and Ads, 2026). In physical goods the pattern is at least as sharp, though the measure underneath it is different: 57% to 69% of the January 2022 meal-kit cohorts bought again in the month after their first order, and 5% to 15% were still buying at month eleven (Second Measure Meal Kit Competition, 2023). That counts purchases, not open subscriptions, so a subscriber who skipped a month reads here as lost.
Why annual figures hide it
An annual churn rate is a single number covering a period in which the curve is at its steepest at the start and nearly flat by the end. Two businesses reporting the same annual figure can have completely different problems: one losing steadily all year, one losing almost everyone in the first quarter and holding the remainder. Mostly it is the second that onboarding work can fix, and the annual number can't tell you which you are. Cohort survival by month can, which is why every source in this section reports one.
You can put your own number on a comparable annual basis with the retention rate calculator, but for a consumer subscription it is worth reading month by month first.
| Vertical | Measure | Reading | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| E-commerce boxes | Share who canceled by month 3 | More than a third | McKinsey 2018 |
| E-commerce boxes | Share who canceled by month 6 | More than a half | McKinsey 2018 |
| Specialty streaming | Still subscribed at month 1 | 72% | Antenna Specialty 2026 |
| Specialty streaming | Still subscribed at month 3 | 54% | Antenna Specialty 2026 |
| Specialty streaming | Still subscribed at month 12 | 27% | Antenna Specialty 2026 |
| Premium streaming | Cancel within the first year | 60% | Antenna Adds and Ads 2026 |
| Meal kits | Cohort still purchasing at month 1 | 57% to 69% | Second Measure 2023 |
| Meal kits | Cohort still purchasing at month 11 | 5% to 15% | Second Measure 2023 |
Does the subscription model matter?
The model is usually treated as the thing that determines a retention playbook, with replenishment, curation and access each getting their own treatment. The source cited for that framing doesn't support it.
McKinsey's own finding is that about 40% of e-commerce subscribers have canceled a subscription, and that these rates are similar across replenishment, curation and access services (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018). The model does not sort subscribers into good and bad retention on the measure the report leads with.
Where the model does show up
It isn't nothing. On a different measure, one-year membership, replenishment holds 45% against roughly ten points lower for curation and access (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018). That's a real gap, and it points the way you'd expect: consumable goods on a predictable cycle hold better than surprise boxes.
But ten points is small next to what sits inside a single model. Meal kits, a category within curation, run cancellation of 60% to 70% and higher within six months on the same report's reading (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018). The variance within a model is larger than the variance between models, so a retention strategy chosen on the model is being chosen on the weaker variable.
One caveat on all of it: this is a single survey fielded in November 2017, self-reported rather than measured, and it has not been repeated. It's used here for the comparison between its own segments, which is the part least likely to be distorted by recall, and not as a level to benchmark against.
| Segment | Measure | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Replenishment / curation / access | Share of e-commerce subscriptions | 32% / 55% / 13% | McKinsey 2018 |
| All three models | Share who have ever canceled, similar across all three | ~40% | McKinsey 2018 |
| Replenishment | Subscribed at least one year | 45% | McKinsey 2018 |
| Curation and access | Subscribed at least one year | ~10 points lower | McKinsey 2018 |
| Meal kits, a category inside curation | Canceled within six months | 60% to 70% and higher | McKinsey 2018 |
What physical-goods subscriptions actually run at
Everything above is consumer subscription broadly. If you ship physical goods on Shopify, there is a narrower benchmark, and it is the one to read first.
Average monthly churn across 20,000 brands, by category, for calendar 2025. The spread is tighter than the category labels suggest: Health and Wellness at 8.8%, Beauty and Personal Care at 8.4%, Pets at 8.1% and Food and Beverage at 7.7% sit within 1.1 points of one another (Recharge Subscription Trend Report, 2026). Home is the outlier at 3.9% (Recharge Subscription Trend Report, 2026), and the report is careful not to read that as health: it reports orders per subscriber down 4.97% year on year in the category, calls the stability something that is starting to mask stagnation, and names passive loyalty rather than cancellation as the pressure point (Recharge Subscription Trend Report, 2026).
So the finding is not that your category decides your retention. Four of the five behave alike, and the one that does not is the one whose subscribers order least often.
These are not the same unit as the annual figures
Stripe's industry cut puts merchandise at 39% annual churn, and furniture at 28%, the lowest rate of any industry it reports and also the one with the highest involuntary share at 46% (Stripe Churn Benchmarks, 2025). Those are annual rates on monthly-billed subscriptions only; the figures in the table are monthly rates for the median brand in a category. The two do not sit on one axis. Compounded, the table's range runs from roughly 38% to roughly 67% a year on our arithmetic, which places Stripe's merchandise figure at the bottom of that range rather than in conflict with it.
Two things follow for a merchant. Compare against your category rather than against a consumer-subscription average, and check the period on any figure before you put it beside your own.
| Category | Measure | Reading | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health & Wellness | Average monthly churn, median brand | 8.8% | Recharge 2026 |
| Beauty & Personal Care | Average monthly churn, median brand | 8.4% | Recharge 2026 |
| Pets | Average monthly churn, median brand | 8.1% | Recharge 2026 |
| Food & Beverage | Average monthly churn, median brand | 7.7% | Recharge 2026 |
| Home | Average monthly churn, median brand | 3.9% | Recharge 2026 |
What actually moves survival
If the model is the weak variable, the strong ones are structural: how the subscription is packaged, and how the subscriber was acquired.
Bundling moves it about thirty points
Twelve-month survival for the Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max bundle runs 59%, against 31% for Disney+ standalone and 28% for HBO Max standalone (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025). That's the largest single effect here, and it's a packaging decision rather than a retention campaign. Bundled subscriptions have gone from 14% of Premium SVOD in late 2023 to 27% in late 2025 (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025), so the market has noticed.
The ad tier barely moves it, and the direction reverses
It's worth stating carefully, because it's easy to quote in one direction. For Netflix specifically, ad-supported subscribers survive twelve months at 54% against 52% for ad-free, while category-wide the ordering flips to ad-free 39% against ad-supported 37% (Antenna State of Subscriptions: Adds and Ads, 2026). Two points either way is not a retention strategy, and anyone citing one of those pairs without the other is reporting a preference, not a finding.
Promotional acquisition did not produce worse subscribers
The standard advice is that discount-acquired subscribers churn harder. In this panel they did not. Sign-ups from Black Friday 2024 promotions survived nine months at 57%, against 43% for 2024 sign-ups overall (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025).
Read that narrowly. It is one panel, one seasonal window, one vertical, and Black Friday shoppers are a high-intent group who may have been going to subscribe anyway. It is not evidence that discounting improves retention generally. It is evidence that the blanket claim doesn't hold everywhere, and shouldn't be asserted without a number behind it.
| Lever | Comparison | Survival | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bundling | Disney+ / Hulu / HBO Max bundle | 59% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Bundling | Disney+ standalone | 31% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Bundling | HBO Max standalone | 28% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Ad tier | Netflix ad-supported against ad-free | 54% against 52% | Antenna Adds and Ads 2026 |
| Ad tier | Category-wide, ad-free against ad-supported | 39% against 37% | Antenna Adds and Ads 2026 |
| Acquisition | Black Friday 2024 promotional sign-ups, at 9 months | 57% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Acquisition | All 2024 sign-ups, at 9 months | 43% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
A cancellation is often not the end
A cancellation reads as terminal in most retention reporting. In consumer subscriptions it frequently isn't.
Of Premium SVOD subscribers who canceled in 2024, 23% had returned within three months, 32% within six and 42% within twelve on a weighted average, with Netflix at 50% (Antenna Premium SVOD Year in Review, 2025). Across Recurly's merchant base, 20% of new sign-ups had subscribed before, rising to 27.7% in digital media and entertainment (Recurly State of Subscriptions, 2025).
Two consequences follow. The first is measurement: a business counting gross cancellations without tracking returns is overstating its losses by a margin that, in streaming, approaches half. The second is that the win-back window is short. Most of the return happens in the first three months, so a quarterly re-engagement cycle catches a good deal of it and an annual one catches almost none.
| Window | Population | Rate | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Within 3 months | Premium SVOD cancellations, 2024 | 23% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Within 6 months | Premium SVOD cancellations, 2024 | 32% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Within 12 months | Premium SVOD cancellations, 2024 | 42% weighted average | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Within 12 months | Netflix cancellations, 2024 | 50% | Antenna Premium SVOD 2025 |
| Not stated | New sign-ups who had subscribed before, all industries | 20% | Recurly 2025 |
| Not stated | New sign-ups who had subscribed before, digital media | 27.7% | Recurly 2025 |
Pause, and the churn nobody chose
Two mechanisms sit outside the usual retention conversation and account for a meaningful share of what looks like churn.
Pause is chosen, not just tolerated
Where merchants offer it, 25% of subscribers who would otherwise cancel choose to pause (Recurly State of Subscriptions, 2025), and 38% of surveyed consumers say they would prefer pausing to canceling (Recurly State of Subscriptions, 2026). The returns are real, not nominal: in the peak month 61.9% of paused subscribers resumed (Recurly State of Subscriptions, 2026). Pause usage in digital media and entertainment grew 330% in a year (Recurly State of Subscriptions, 2025), which says more about how few merchants offered it than about a change in what consumers wanted. The demand is not in doubt: 58% of consumers say they have paused a subscription instead of canceling it, and 79% say they need an easy pause before they will subscribe at all (Chargebee Global Consumer Insights, 2026). That is a survey of 1,454 US and UK consumers across consumer subscriptions generally, with meal kits inside the frame but no physical-goods cut of its own.
Some of the churn was never a decision
At low order values a large minority of cancellations are payment failures, not choices: 35% of all churn under a $10 order value is involuntary (Stripe Churn Benchmarks, 2025). Consumer subscriptions cluster at exactly that end of the price range, so the involuntary share matters more here than in most categories. The full cut across order values is on the churn rate benchmarks page.
| Cut | Measure | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Merchants offering pause | Subscribers pausing rather than canceling | 25% | Recurly 2025 |
| Peak month | Paused subscribers who resumed | 61.9% | Recurly 2026 |
| Surveyed consumers | Would prefer pause to canceling | 38% | Recurly 2026 |
| Digital media and entertainment | Growth in pause usage | 330% | Recurly 2025 |
| Under $10 order value | Involuntary share of all churn | 35% | Stripe 2025 |
How to benchmark yourself
Four things to establish before comparing yourself to anything on this page.
Measure by cohort month, not by period
Take everyone who started in a given month and track what share is still active at month one, three, six and twelve. That's the only shape comparable to the sources here, and the only one that separates an onboarding problem from a steady leak. A period churn rate averages the two together.
Match the vertical before the number
Specialty streaming at 27% twelve-month survival (Antenna Specialty SVOD Landscape, 2026) and Premium streaming, which publishes a 60% first-year cancellation rate rather than a survival figure and so sits near 40% surviving on our inversion of it (Antenna State of Subscriptions: Adds and Ads, 2026), are different businesses, and meal kits are different again. Consumer subscription isn't one benchmark, and the gap between two categories here is larger than the gap between any two subscription models. If you sell physical goods and let subscribers skip a delivery, read the meal-kit row knowing it scores a skipped month as a lost one, so a flexible program benchmarks worse against it than it deserves to.
Net your losses against returns
If a fifth to a half of your cancellations come back, gross cancellation overstates the problem and understates the value of the win-back window. Track returning subscribers separately from new ones. Most billing systems do not do this by default.
Separate what was chosen from what was not
Payment failure and voluntary cancellation have nothing in common except where they land in the report. At consumer price points the involuntary share is large enough to move the headline figure on its own. You can size your own split with the churn rate calculator and, for the revenue-weighted view, the MRR churn calculator.
What good looks like
For a consumer subscription, holding more than half a cohort at month three is a reasonable target and puts you above specialty streaming's 54% (Antenna Specialty SVOD Landscape, 2026). Month-twelve survival above 40% is strong, since Premium streaming as a whole sits near there once its published 60% first-year cancellation rate is inverted (Antenna State of Subscriptions: Adds and Ads, 2026) and specialty sits at 27% (Antenna Specialty SVOD Landscape, 2026). Both matter far less than the direction of your month-three number across successive cohorts, because that's the one you can still change.
Run Your Own Numbers
DTC Subscription Retention FAQs
Methodology & Sources
What this page draws on
Every figure comes from a report we hold and have read, and each table row names the report it came from. Three measurement approaches appear here and they are not interchangeable, so each table states which one it is reading. The physical-goods category table is a fourth kind again: platform billing data for the median brand in a category, not a rate pooled across subscribers, so its rows cannot be weighted together or set beside a pooled figure from another panel.
Survey against measured panels
(McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018) is self-reported: 5,093 participants, of whom 607 had subscribed to an e-commerce subscription box in the previous twelve months, fielded once in November 2017 and never repeated. It is subject to recall bias and is used here for comparisons between its own segments rather than as a level. The model comparison rests on less than that headline: 505 of the 607 answered the deeper question set, and the three-way split across replenishment, curation and access divides it again, with access the smallest share at 13% (McKinsey Subscription Box Research, 2018). Its finding that the models do not differ is a null result on a few hundred people, thinnest exactly where access is concerned, so read it as the absence of a large effect and not as proof of none. The Antenna reports observe US subscriptions directly across a measurement panel, scoped per report to ten Premium SVOD services or thirty-one Specialty SVOD services. (Second Measure Meal Kit Competition, 2023) observes US card transactions for five meal-kit companies, filtered to purchases made through each company's own site.
Survival, cancellation and repeat purchase are three different measures
Antenna reports survival, the share of a cohort still subscribed. McKinsey reports cancellation incidence, the share who say they have ever canceled. Second Measure reports cohort repeat purchase, the share of a first-purchase cohort transacting again in a later month, which is not the same as an active subscription for two separate reasons. Blue Apron in particular allows purchases without one. And the source states that meal-kit services let customers 'pause and resume shipments as they wish' and are 'only charged per delivery', so a paused-but-not-canceled subscriber who skips a month counts as non-retained here even though the subscription is still open. These are set side by side to compare shape, never summed or averaged.
Where a comparison is not available
Antenna's Premium SVOD reporting excludes free tiers, MVPD and telco distribution and selected bundles, which is stated on every chart in that report. Its 60% first-year cancellation figure comes from that report's narrative and is consistent with, though not identical to, the twelve-month survival figures elsewhere in Antenna's reporting. Both readings appear here instead of one.
Conversions
Three figures in the prose are our arithmetic rather than a publisher's. Antenna publishes survival for specialty streaming, so the share lost in the first month is one hundred less the 72% still subscribed; and it publishes a first-year cancellation rate for premium streaming, so the survival figure beside it is one hundred less that 60%. The tables carry only what was published. Separately, the annual range quoted beside the category table is ours: Recharge publishes monthly rates, and compounding 3.9% and 8.8% over twelve months gives roughly 38% and 67%. Recharge publishes no annual figure.
What is deliberately not here
No figure is carried across editions of the same report as though the two formed one series. The Subscription Trade Association's market-sizing figures, which this page previously carried, have been removed: they are the association's own estimates with no published methodology, and the page said so while citing them anyway. Skip rate, delivery cadence and product swap are absent because no source we hold measures them. Recharge's own 2026 platform report gives skip and swap as advice and attaches no figure to either, and Stripe's benchmark excludes yearly, quarterly and weekly subscriptions by design, so the one physical-goods churn source with a stated method structurally cannot speak to cadence. Two figures circulate that would fill the gap, a 32% churn reduction from offering skip, pause, swap and gift, and a 135% lifetime uplift from skip availability. Neither appears in the report it is credited to.